Return to Headlines

1-30-2023 Board of Trustees Recognizes 2022 Fall Sports and Band Student Achievements

On Thursday evening, January 26, 2023, the Lytle Board of Trustees held a special event to recognize the achievements of our students in fall sports and band. Superintendent Michelle Carroll Smith and Board of Trustees President LeeAnna Mask welcomed students, their families, staff and community members to the program. Says Mrs. Mask, "We are going to start by recognizing all those who make these students' remarkable achievements possible. The parents, the teachers, the administrators, coaches and band directors - all of you worked hard to be a part of the achievements we celebrate tonight." 

Trustee Alan Brown recognized the football team and individual students in the program saying, "Football had the highest participation in three years, outstanding academic achievement, including 31 Honor Roll members, and service to our community through initiatives such as the Peanut Butter Bowl. Tonight, we also congratulate our Academic All-State honorees, Hudson Mask – 1st Team, Academic All-State, Angel Vasquez – 2nd Team, Academic All-State and Klarissa Martinez – 2nd Team, Academic All-State Athletic Trainer. These students have done an outstanding job in the classroom and as representatives of Lytle Football and Lytle Sports Medicine."

Trustee Bobby Sollock recognized the volleyball team saying, "The Lytle Lady Pirates volleyball program showed tremendous growth this season, ending with a record of 20-15 overall and 5-5 in district. Although they came up short in the first round of the playoffs against Jourdanton, they were not the same team that started at the beginning of the season." These individual players also ended the season with All-District honors: Rose Scotello (Senior) 1st Team All-District, Calyssa Sevier (Junior) 1st Team All-District, Cadee Martinez (Senior) 2nd Team All-District and Cameron "Fizz" Hutton (Senior)  2nd Team All-District.

Trustee Bobby Duty recognized the Pirate Band's successful marching season saying, "The Lytle Pirate Band earned their 5th consecutive 1st Division rating at UIL Region Marching Contest, which qualified them for their 5th consecutive advancement to the Area Marching Contest. At the Area Marching Contest, the band earned 7th place in prelims, earning a performance slot in Area Finals for the first time in the history of Lytle ISD. At Finals, the Pirate Band earned 5th place, which is the highest rank ever earned by the Lytle High School Band. Had this been a year where advancement to the State Marching Competition was possible, the Pirate Band would have advanced to State Marching Contest." The following individual students were also recognized for Regional Band Honors: Cambri Davila 4th Chair Symphonic Band Flute – Advancing to Area, Jose Gomez 1st chair Symphonic Band Contra-Alto Clarinet – Advancing to Area, Jose Gomez 3rd Chair Symphonic Band Bass Clarinet – Advancing to Area, Stefan Grigsby 1st chair Symphonic Band French Horn – Advancing to Area, Elijah Martinez 3rd Chair Symphonic Band Alto Sax – Advancing to Area, Melanie Perez 5th Chair Symphonic Band Clarinet – Advancing to Area, Andres Arredondo 7th Chair Concert Band French Horn, Auslyn Beazer 2nd Chair Concert Band French Horn, Nadia Daniels 4th Chair Concert Band Flute, Victoria Garcia 1st Alternate Concert Band Flute, Koby Lara 1st Alternate Concert Band Trombone, Aiden Martinez 1st Alternate Concert Band Tuba, Luke Montez 1st Alternate Concert Band Euphonium, Jailynn Ng 10th Chair Concert Band Clarinet and Natalie Williams 6th Chair Concert Band Flute. These students earned Area Band honors: Cambri Davila, 9th Chair Flute, Citlali Ferreira, 10th Chair Flute, Jose Gomez, 2nd chair Contra-Alto Clarinet, Stefan Grigsby, 4th chair French Horn, Elijah Martinez 9th Chair Alto Sax and Melanie Perez: 5th Chair Clarinet. 

Trustee Reagan Wagner recognized the girls and boys Cross Country teams saying, "Cross Country had a stellar year on the course at every race they attended, resulting in a history-making year where both boys' and girls' teams made it to the state medal stand, a first for Lytle ISD." The girls team, Klayre Cook, Moriah Gomez, Eisabel Guerrero, Marissa Lopez, Samantha Mujica, Dezmarie Ortega and Frances Scotello ended the year as the 3rd place 3A team at state, this was their second consecutive state appearance. Leading up to the state meet, the girls won 5 out of 10 meets, with a 2nd place finish in 3 meets and a 3rd place finish in 2 meets. The senior girls - Moriah, Eisabel, Marissa and Dezmarie - ended their final season with 3 District Titles, 1 Regional Title, 1 Regional Runner-up, 2 State Meet Appearances, placing 4th and 3rd and Eisabel Guerrero became the first female athlete in school history to have 4 state appearances. 

The boys' team, Johnny Alvarez, Yandel Esquivez, Luke Estrada, Tristan Lopez, Brandon Obando, Abel Sanchez and Robert Wagner, was awarded the 3A state championship, the culmination of an undefeated season of nine meets. Robert Wagner’s 4-year contribution included 4 District Team Titles, 3 Regional Team Titles, 1 Runner- Up, 4 State Appearances (6th, 4th, 3rd & 1st) and the 2021 Express-News All-Area CC Runner. 

The Cross Country program also had three All-State finishers - the most we have had in school history: Johnny Alvarez - 9th , Marissa Lopez - 7th and Moriah Gomez - 14th.   

Finally, the San Antonio Express-News named three Lytle Cross Country Athletes as Super Team Members: Marissa Lopez, Robert Wagner and Johnny Alvarez.

Trustee Mae Flores brought Cross Country Coach Gilbert Ruiz to the stage to be recognized for some extraordinary honors, saying, "Coach Ruiz has run the Cross Country program at Lytle ISD since 2003. He has had many successes over the years, but he made history this year by putting both the boys and girls programs on the State medal stand with a first and third place at the State Cross Country Meet in Round Rock. He is named the Regional Coach of the Year for both Boys and Girls Teams by the Texas High School Coaches Association for 2022-2023. He is amazing and a legend in Lytle sports."

In closing out the ceremony, Board President LeeAnna Mask took a few moments to recognize Lytle Athletic Director Lori Wilson, saying, "Coach Wilson builds successful programs through her involvement, support and dedication to all Lytle sports. She models what it takes to build such positive relationships with athletes that they keep returning to Lytle years and years after they graduate. We have several who have come back to coach in the district. Thank you, Coach Wilson." 

Check out the photos of students, their families, board members, coaches and band directors enjoying drinks made by the Jolly Roger Coffee Co. student baristas and cookies prepared by Lytle High School Culinary students:

Lorrianne Migura